Read + Study + Craft = epic weekend (obviously)

Last week was wild. So when the glorious 3-day weekend arrived, I was determined to make it epic. So being the wild and crazy girl that I am, I finished a book and made the cutest bookmarks ever with my sister. Epic.

Once again, Go Pinterest. Also, those sweet pages belong to Beth Moore’s study of James. It’s for sure 5 stars.

Now to the book.

“The Adoration of Jenna Fox”

by Mary Pearson

2 ** = Overall not recommended; there were some highlights, but nothing to write home about.

Seventeen-year-old Jenna Fox has just awoken from a year-long coma – so she’s been told – and she is still recovering from the terrible accident that caused it. But what happened before that? She’s been given home movies chronicling her entire life, which spark memories to surface. But are the memories really hers? And why won’t anyone in her family talk about the accident? Jenna is becoming more curious. But she is also afraid of what she might find out if she ever gets up the courage to ask her questions.

What happened to Jenna Fox? And who is she really? Synopsis from Goodreads.

Pearson’s book is set in a near future but with significantly advanced medical technology. It is told from Jenna’s perspective and begins very choppy and disconnected, representing the choppiness of her own mind as she wakes up from her coma. As the book progresses, the writing becomes more fluid as do Jenna’s thoughts.

What is interesting about this book is that it poses some fairly weighty questions. Questions involving the role of advanced technology in preserving life and how far a parent will go to save their child. Heavy stuff, I know.

I think this might have been a good book. I have a feeling it’s well written. But, I just really didn’t enjoy it.

There are about two pages of adventure. The rest is musings from Jenna’s re-developing mind. I found it fairly sleepy and boring and just a tad depressing.

This is just me, however. I like adventure and mystery. This had very little. So not my favorite.

If you’re like me, skip the book and make the bookmarks. And, consider doing Beth Moore’s study. That, my friends, is for everyone.

Leave a comment