Angels, Angels EVERYWHERE! Fallen and Torment by Lauren Kate

So at the suggestion of some wise book lovers at bewitchedbookworms.com, I decided to try the series Fallen by Lauren Kate.  I do appreciate reviews from people who enjoy books as much as I do and was glad to get some insight into this series.  I have been drawn to this series since the first time I saw Fallen’s book cover.  It is really stunning!  But some reviews from Goodreads readers discouraged me from jumping into the series.  I should have remembered the reason “why we write” reviews, which we have on this blog and remembered that not all reviews are equal.  So here is my two cents on Fallen and Torment

Fallen

by Lauren Kate

3 *** = Good, may not be for everyone

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her. (Synopsis from Goodreads)

Now this story is just what I like, a little mystery, romance and danger.  Throw in the paranormal and you got my favorite kind of book.

I will say, I was a bit unnerved at the description and feel of the School Luce is sent to.  It was all so wrong; the grounds, the rules and the kids.  Luce has had some pretty dark and disturbing things happen to her and then was blamed for them.  That is what gets her put in this school.  Before these events, she was a popular girl in a great private school.  So even though everything seems to be going wrong, she keeps her attitude pretty good through it all.  She does make some friends.   Arriane who is wild and crazy, but she leaves you wondering if she is a real friend.  Penn is so wonderful, she really helps Luce acclimate at school.   Then the mysterious, gorgeous boy walks into the picture.  His response to first seeing her is so negative, you have to wonder what his deal is.  We do also have a love triangle here, the gorgeous Cam!  It does add some interest to this story, even though I am not a huge fan of love triangles.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the way the story unfolded.  It was not as obvious as some YA paranormal romances.   The description of their past experiences together is so intriguing.  I was totally drawn in by Daniel’s love and dedication to Luce.  But to be honest, at the end I am not sure I can say exactly why these two are destined for such a rough road.  I think the author planned for the following books to clue you into more of the why’s, but I was left wondering more than I had hoped.     There were some good twists and turns, but it does get really dark and there are some very sad deaths.   So basically, this story isn’t going to be a literary classic, but it is an enjoyable paranormal romance.

Torment

by Lauren Kate

3 *** = Good, may not be for everyone

Hell on earth.

That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.
It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts—immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.

At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something—something dangerous.
What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?
 
The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series . . . where love never dies (Synopsis from Goodreads)

In this book, we are at a new and really improved school.  It is like a scene from Beverly Hills 90210.  Gorgeous grounds, great food, all the amenities of a resort and it’s supposed to be High School.  At this school along with regular subjects she learns more about the angels and who Daniel is.  The hard part is that Luce has just found this connection with Daniel and now he has left her.  He continues to assure her it’s for her safety.   I am sure it wouldn’t be such a problem, but Daniel is being so quiet about the why’s, that it is tearing up Luce.  She is trying to figure out their relationship and who she is without any information from Daniel.  Their connection when they are together is as strong as ever, but she is so confused about “them” when he is not around.

I have to say I enjoyed the new school, students, and teachers.  Most of them are part angel themselves.  Sadly, the relationship part with Daniel and Luce was not as satisfying.  You learn a little more about their past meetings, but only by Luce’s sheer will to find the truth.  The fact that Daniel is keeping so much from her is a bit annoying.  I just wanted a little more progress in their relationship.  There are two other books with a novela about some of the relationships.  So maybe this author is just spreading out the story.  It may be a bit too thin to keep me reading the series.

Overall, very interesting concepts and really love it idea of Luce and Daniel.  I love all the angels that were included in this story.  Hoping these things keep me wanting to know what happens.

3 thoughts on “Angels, Angels EVERYWHERE! Fallen and Torment by Lauren Kate

  1. First off, I’m so happy you picked it up because we loved it so much!!
    Please please read Passion and do not give up yet! Passion was amazing and I think it’s even the best book in the series. You said you wondered why those two should be together? This is exactly what Luce asks herself too and this topic is dealt with in Passion. Passion was wonderful:))

    • Thanks so much Danny! I did read Passion this weekend, it was better than I expected. I will say, I wish all the info about the curse was not in the very last bits of the book, but I enjoyed it. I am hoping for an epic wrap up and some satisfaction for Luce and Daniel in Rapture! Here’s hoping! Love your blog! Keep reading and reviewing!

      • Thanks Gaby!! Always makes me insanely happy when someone likes my Blog *sigh*
        I’m glad you enjoyed Passion but you are right it was torture having to wait until the very end to learn about the curse.. I can’t wait for Rapture and I’m sure there will be a happy happy end:)

Leave a Reply

