Great Modern Day Romance

Attachments by Rainbow RowellAttachments

5 ***** = Highly recommend; A Classic; Couldn’t get much better; Could read over and over again

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Published April 14th, 2011

Format: Hardcover, Library

Synopsis From Good Reads

Beth and Jennifer know their company monitors their office e-mail. But the women still spend all day sending each other messages, gossiping about their coworkers at the newspaper and baring their personal lives like an open book. Jennifer tells Beth everything she can’t seem to tell her husband about her anxieties over starting a family. And Beth tells Jennifer everything, period.

When Lincoln applied to be an Internet security officer, he hardly imagined he’d be sifting through other people’s inboxes like some sort of electronic Peeping Tom. Lincoln is supposed to turn people in for misusing company e-mail, but he can’t quite bring himself to crack down on Beth and Jennifer. He can’t help but be entertained and captivated by their stories.

But by the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, its way too late for him to ever introduce himself. What would he say to her? “Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you.” After a series of close encounters and missed connections, Lincoln decides it’s time to muster the courage to follow his heart . . . even if he can’t see exactly where it’s leading him.

Written with whip-smart precision and charm, Attachments is a strikingly clever and deeply romantic debut about falling in love with the person who makes you feel like the best version of yourself. Even if it’s someone you’ve never met.

I saw this book reviewed on one of the many AWESOME blogs I follow.  Sadly my memory is suckish and I can’t remember which.  BUT, this was a fabulous surprise!  I wanted to read something fun, romantic and light!  I will tell you I was completely surprised by the depth to this story and the characters.  It was so great to get all the fun I hoped for and even more.

CHARACTERS

Lincoln – At the start of this book, I can honestly say, I thought he was pitiful.  I was not liking Lincoln.  He was almost painfully wrong about everything after his shattering heartbreak with his ex Sam.  I did love that he was a true romantic, he was very clear about what he wanted.  He did not just want to be with girls.  Rainbow does a fabulous job at developing this boy into something wonderful.  The depth of his feeling for his ex and how he grows to the end of the story was so enjoyable.

Beth and Jennifer are hilarious!  I loved the banter between them so much!  I could not get enough of their emails!  They both get a chance to show who they really are after a while.  It’s so fun to see them really sharing and being friends through their email.  It felt so real because that is how my friends and I talk and live life.

STORY LINE

I can only say that the way Rainbow lets the story develop feels really natural.  I was so excited to read these girls emails.  It reminded me of the conversation you would get in a Jane Austen novel.  A lot of talk about life and love and relationships.  I loved the struggle Lincoln has with having to read them and not wanting to stop.  He is so lost at the beginning, doing Dungeons & Dragons and living with his mom.  What was great, was to see the viewpoints of each of the characters and how they saw each other.  I can say I had no idea how this would play out.  But it was so great and the growth of the characters is really fun and rewarding.

ROMANCE

The romance was a great example of a fun romance you would see in a romantic comedy.  The best part was that you got depth of each character.  You got to see what they were thinking and it wasn’t just sparks and fireworks.  Every character goes thru some serious love and heartbreak.  The way the characters got their own chance to have their moments was great, like little novellas.  Lincoln seems a bit sorry at the beginning   So broken from his one and only “true love”.  There is such a great story arc with him.  I can’t explain enough how much he changes and how enjoyable watching his growth is.  Beth also has some heartbreak and her journey to Lincoln makes what they have feel so real.  Sigh!  Jennifer’s journey while not in typical romantic comedy story line is so enjoyable.   She is the married friend.  You know the “married friend” with all the funny lines & wisdom in a romantic comedy.  Even though her journey is different, it was still heartbreaking and genuine.

MY TWO CENTS

This is one of my favorites of the year.  I was completely satisfied in the end & it was not at all predictable.  It was great writing, fun and completely swoon worthy.  The romance is deep, heartbreaking, clean and so romantic.  By the end of this book, I was swooning over Lincoln, whom I was totally not into at the beginning.  The girls journeys are just as heartbreaking and lovely.  I totally related to these ladies.  I felt like I was reading about friends.  Love, Love, Love!  I have a sneaking suspicion that this book will be under my tree this Christmas.  Since I borrowed it from the library, I added a hardcover edition to my Amazon basket.  It is now empty, so here’s hoping the hubby or Santa bought it for me!!!!  Yay!!!

One thought on “Great Modern Day Romance

  1. Pingback: Nerd Love: The Attachments by Rainbow Rowell | wrapped up in books

Leave a Reply

