Jennifer L. Armentrout is a Rock Star! Deity & Opal!

Folks!  An author has done this girl in!  After screaming out in ******** (words blocked out to keep from spoiling).  My youngest screamed out, “Who, What, When, Where & Why”.  She thought she was being funny, but it totally made sense.  She wanted to know why I was losing my mind very loudly.  So here goes!

Who:  JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT – A.K.A.  Da Rock Star!

What:  She took me on two separate roller coaster rides!  One in a world of Quasi Greek mythology and another in a world with aliens!

When:  Oh, just now!  Yikes!

Where:  Where ever I could get time to read.  (Thanking God for my Kindle app on my iPhone)

Why!!!!!!:  This Rock Star author has made me grit my teeth and take the dangerous task head on, because I LOVE her characters.  Made me read about aliens, which I RARELY do, and love it.  Kept me reading knowing that no matter what the outcome there was going to be pain and maybe loss.  BUT I HAD TO DO IT.  That is why & now I can exhale!

Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout  

#3 in the Covenant seriesFire flower

4 **** = Can recommend; Great; Overall enjoyable

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Published November 6th 2012

Format: Amazon Kindle Edition

Synopsis From Good Reads

“History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time. “

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden. 

If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome. 

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed. 

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…

Gah!!! “Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…”   I fell in love with this series while on vacation at Disney!  Would have wild fun-filled days with my family.  Be completely exhausted and would stay up reading the Covenant Series.  I love the theme of what love can overcome in this series.  I don’t think J.A. is finished showing what it can really do yet.  But Yahoo!!!  This was so good, not easy or painless, but so worth it!

CHARACTERS

Seth – I didn’t really feel that Seth was an option for a love interest for a LONG time.  I wasn’t sure we could trust him & what Alex and Aiden has is so epic!  But I really started believing Seth could be the one in this book.  He is so powerful and so attentive to Alex.  He is complicated and I think, both the qualities of power and attentiveness could also be a bad thing.  He-He!

ALEX – I really love her.  Yeah, she is a trained killer, talented and is about to burst with ridiculous power when she awakens.  But this girl goes into to every fight or problem swinging.  She may not make the smartest decisions but, CRAP, she will go down fighting.  She does this in battles and in love.  And I want to be her!  Ha!

Aiden – OK, he goes on the list!  The chivalrous gorgeous boy who steals your heart.  Yeah, the bad boys are great and all, but goodness, Aiden is just GREAT!  Not only will he do the right thing, but he will do it even when it may mean breaking rules he has been sworn to protect.  I heart him, he is one of those great prince characters you read about in epic stories.  And he performs in this book.

STORY LINE

Alex is definitely just treading water after all that has happened.  She doesn’t have Aiden, but she has Seth and that is good right?  She is still reeling from the loss of Caleb, her best friend.  There are moments in this book, when I was balling at her dealing with that.  I love that at the start of this book, you think you know the rules.  Then things start to change and some of the characters in this book are so big that you will be blown away!  I loved it!  There is action, betrayal and of course romance!

ROMANCE

Alright, there is some danger of spoilage in this category   And being a romantic at heart I can’t tell!  So just take my word, it’s good and lovely!  A little love triangle.  Unrequited and forbidden love.  What else do you need!  Just do it!

MY TWO CENTS

So here it is!  I loved it, and can’t, can’t wait for Apollyon in April 2013!  Check out my blog on the Deity trailer and Apollyon cover reveal!  This series really struck a chord with me.  A forbidden love, lots of fighting and a touch of greek mythology.  I was on the edge of my seat the entire read and was not disappointed!

Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout  

#3 in the Lux seriesOpal

4 **** = Can recommend; Great; Overall enjoyable

Published December 4th 2012

Format: Amazon Kindle Edition

Synopsis From Good Reads

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

CHARACTERS

Daemon – I am going to be completely honest!  His self-confident attitude was attractive at first, then annoying at times.  But now that Kat & Daemon’s relationship has really come full circle and been established, I really love his attitude.  His “Kitten” remarks are now really just out of complete adoration for Kat.  He is confident, but he is an amazingly gorgeous, STRONG alien that can kick butt.  He should be!  But he really loves Kat and he takes care of her.  He has really turned out to be great!

Kat – Her journey from book blogger to hybrid alien girlfriend has been so satisfying for me as a reader.  She has messed up, lost some friendships and had to contemplate killing and death.  This journey has not been easy or clear and I think J.A. has made it real and interesting.   And how can you not love a girl who is a book blogger!  Ha!

STORY LINE

Ok, folks, here is where it gets hairy for me!  This is not an easy breezy YA paranormal romance.  It is so hard to know that your beloved characters are walking into difficult territory and that it will be  miracle if everyone makes it!  Ugh!  I basically had to put down the book and walk around, clean a little & maybe drink a little wine.  I may or may have not been chanting, “It’s a book, it’s not real, it’s ok”.  This book brings the action and the drama.  Dawson, Daemon’s brother is back, along with some other characters we thought were long gone.  Dawson yearns for Beth and keeping him safe is a large undertaking.  Dee is devastated after Adam’s death and her relationship with Kat may never be the same.  Then there is Ash, the gorgeous Luxen (alien) who is just the bain of Kat’s existence.  Needless to say, this book is full of the edge of your seat kind of drama and action you want.  I am just a big whimp, so I took it in stride and took a lot of breaks!

ROMANCE

Yes!!!  This is the sweet part of the this series I love!  Not only does Daemon love him some Kat, but they are joined!  Since the time Daemon healed Kat they have a special bond.  So there is a depth to their relationship.  I just love it and this book brings some real sweet and monumental moments for their relationship.  It was sweet and meaningful, really loved it.

MY TWO CENTS

There is a crazy ending to this book, it kills me to have to wait and see what happens.  So there it is!  I can’t wait to see what happens in Origin, which comes out is July 2013.  It was such a ride, but I will warn I was crying at the end.  And maybe a few times during the book.  Happy & sad crys!  But that is what makes it so great!  I want to go on this journey with Daemon and Katy!  Read it peeps!

MY FOUR CENT ROUNDUP ? 😉

So let’s give it up for an author who can write two completely rock solid awesome series, back to back!  I am really a fan, Jennifer Armentrout has blown me away with both of these.  They were both unexpected favorites for me.  Now, I am sitting reeling about the fact I have to wait out the snow for both of the next installments of these series.  AGH!  Haha!  Spring & Summer can’t come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

