A book on the beach? Don’t mind if I do.

You know what’s awesome? Reading. You know what’s even more awesome? Reading on the beach.

Yup. Those are my sandy feet on a beautiful beach in Puerto Rico.

Just a few short days ago I was reclined on a beautiful beach in Puerto Rico with two of my best girls. I hiked, rappelled, ziplined, ate as many powdered sugar pastries (mallorcas) as I could manage, and rubbed excess sunscreen on my tummy (don’t do this, friends – the burn lines are spectacular).

Oh, and I finished a book, which I haven’t done for quite some time.

Finishing this particular book was especially spectacular as I finally completed the Nicolas Flamel series by Michael Scott. I never thought this day would come.

It’s been a four-year journey that I nearly bailed out on a couple times out of pure impatience. In hindsight, I’m glad I hung in there.

  The Enchantress

by Michael Scott

3 *** = Good, may not be for everyone

The two that are one must become the one that is all. One to save the world, one to destroy it.

San Francisco:Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel have one day left to live, and one job left to do. They must defend San Francisco. The monsters gathered on Alcatraz Island have been released and are heading toward the city. If they are not stopped, they will destroy everyone and everything in their path.

 But even with the help of two of the greatest warriors from history and myth, will the Sorceress and the legendary Alchemyst be able to defend the city? Or is it the beginning of the end of the human race?

Danu Talis: Sophie and Josh Newman traveled ten thousand years into the past to Danu Talis when they followed Dr. John Dee and Virginia Dare. And it’s on this legendary island that the battle for the world begins and ends.

Scathach, Prometheus, Palamedes, Shakespeare, Saint-Germain, and Joan of Arc are also on the island. And no one is sure what—or who—the twins will be fighting for.

 Today the battle for Danu Talis will be won or lost.

But will the twins of legend stand together?

Or will they stand apart—

one to save the world and one to destroy it? (synopsis from goodreads)

As I’ve mentioned before in previous posts, this series has been up and down for me. It’s jam-packed with plot twists, characters, worlds, and timelines that quite frankly are a lot to keep up with. On top of that, the entire series – and I mean six pretty thick books – take place over the span of nine days. I actually re-read the entire series prior to reading the final installment in order to remember the main plot and characters.

I’m going to go out on a limb and assume that Michael Scott is very smart. I can’t even imagine the research he has done for this series. He taps into all kinds of ancient history and mythology and includes modern references as well. I loved how he incorporated well known and loved characters such as William Shakespeare and Joan of Arc. He ties in history and fiction wonderfully.

However, while I loved how he incorporated historical figures into the story, there were just too many characters. By the sixth book, you know a moderate amount about a lot of people. The twists and turns were far less stunning due to the emotional connection missing with the characters.

That being said, I did like “The Enchantress” best out of all the books, although for the life of me, I can’t figure out why it’s called “The Enchantress.” It was fun to see the series wrap up, and although somewhat predictable, I closed the book feeling good about the ending.

If you’re thinking about getting into this series, I can assure you that you are safe to do so as all the books have been released. However, I would highly recommend that you listen to at least a few of them. If I hadn’t, names such as “Quetzalcoatl,” “Tsagaglalal,” and “Marethyu,” would just be scrambled letters on a page to me.

Leave a Reply

