Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi  

#1 in the Under the Never sky series

5 ***** = Highly recommend; A Classic; Couldn’t get much better; Could read over and over again

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Synopsis from Goodreads

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland – known as The Death Shop – are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild – a savage – and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile – everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

I have been in a book slump!  Having a hard time reading, writing or focusing on much right now.  NaNoWriMo pushed me over the edge, my work in progress is coming along, but I just don’t have it in me to write at break neck speed.  I was out-of-town for work and life has just kept me from being able to finish reading a book, much less review it.  But I feel like I have found the CURE!!!!  Under the Never Sky!

Shout out to the ladies of Epic Reads!  I was watching one of the Ustream live posts and they mentioned Perry and Aria in a treehouse.  Totally intrigued, I bought it and TRUE LOVE!  Thanks Ladies!

REFRESHING

I have found very few dystopian books that I like, much less LOVE.  This story however has totally blown my mind.  Although the story is dystopian, it is a refreshing look at a society trying to cope with immense changes to their world.  It is not overwhelmingly oppressive like so many other dystopian stories I have read.  It touched on some touchy subjects with a fresh point of view and great writing skill.  For example, menstruation.  I know that sounds like an odd thing to bring up, right, who writes about that in a YA novel and what blogger LOVES IT.  She worded the interaction in a way that brought it out of the physical and made it kind of sacred for what it meant to her character.  I was definitely impressed by the way she used words and the way her characters spoke to each other.  She also handled the relationship between Aria & Perry excellently.  There was no typical YA angst, their characters developed so naturally and believable.  I have to say this is my favorite example of an author describing the physical part of a relationship.  No overly explicit descriptive language needed, she wrote a lovely encounter that will be a favorite for me!

AMOR

Oh yeah!  This was so amazing!  I don’t want to spoil, but once again, props on not making it typical.  It developed very naturally, genuinely and felt very mature.

CHARACTERS

Aria seems like a very typical teenager at the start of this story.  I loved the development of her character.  With her world upside down she learns to deal with what comes her way.  Veronica Rossi did a great job at not making her whiny, not perfect, but a real live girl finding out who she really is.

Perry is really a great character.  I loved the way Veronica Rossi juxtaposed Perry and Aria.  He is not a typical teenager and has to deal with a lot in his life.  He has serious worries and responsibilities along with living a hard life of work on the Outside.  He is also playful, caring and completely swoon worthy.

The cast of characters that Rossi creates is so layered and lovely.  I was completely swept off my feet by this world.

ACTION

The pace of this book is great!  There was plenty of action, but the character interactions are just as entertaining.  I am not usually a fan of fights and chases.  But I loved how Perry’s giftings worked into the action.  I am also a huge fan of the bow and arrow!

MY TWO CENTS

So yes!  I am now a huge Veronica Rossi (Perry) FAN GIRL!  This is absolutely going on my favorites list for 2012.  Really I just keep thinking, refreshing!  This book has really inspired me to write and find books to read that are eloquent and real.  Now, don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of good books out there.  It’s just a boost to find a great one!  This is a great one!

Through the Ever Night is #2 in the Under the Never Sky Series & it comes out January 8, 2013.  Whoop Whoop!!!  (Imagine me doing a “happy book coming out soon” dance!  Because that is what I am doing.  No shame in my game.  😉  )

9 thoughts on “Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  1. I love, Love, LOVED this book! The story was so original and the characters were just amazing. I love how the relationship builds between them, and their chemistry is off the charts! I can’t wait for the next book to come out 😀

    • Was just chatting with Epic Reads about the berry scene! Really amazing writing, so real and intense. Kind of sad it took me so long to read it! Thanks for the comment!

  2. So glad you liked this! I really enjoyed it and found it super interesting. I actually think Roar was my favorite character, surprisingly. I can’t wait for Through the Ever Night!

    • Hey Olivia!!! Yes, I saw your 5 stars on Goodreads when I was done. Don’t know why it took so long for me to find it on my radar. I LOVED it! So excited for the next! I am doing good, just bogged down with work and trying to write. NaNoWriMo just made it worse for me, so I think I am going to just write and take my time. How is school? And your works in progress? Love reading your reviews!

      • It’s not as widely known as, say, Divergent, but it is just as great, in a different way! I’m very excited for Through the Ever Night!! Do you plan on reading the short story ‘Roar and Liv’? It’s already out, I might read it when I get some time.
        I tried NaNo for one day, and then quit. It did, however, make me realize that I am totally unable to write that fast. I wrote a post about it, and then it was Featured on WordPress, which was…. wow. Totally unexpected and undeserved. That, and I’m a part of my school’s brand new online newspaper! So much exciting stuff lately!
        My WIP is going great! I’m 15k in, and it doesn’t look like I’ll be able to finish by the end of the year, but I’m going to try VERY hard to. And thanks, G! Loving yours and Sara’s too, as always!
        Happy Early Thanksgiving to you and your family!
        Olivia

  3. Pingback: Dystopian Love Done Right: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi | wrapped up in books

Leave a Reply

