Why this reader hasn’t been writing…

Hi. It’s Sara. You might not remember me. I write book reviews on this blog. But it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything. How long, you ask? I don’t know; I’m too ashamed to check the date on my last review.

I’d like to blame it on back to school, but alas, I’m not in school any longer. I haven’t been sick or missing or studying abroad. Mostly, I’ve just been sleepy. Reading a book has basically been the equivalent of taking an Ambien. It knocks me right out.

And there’s one other thing. You know when you are reading a series that’s not completely out yet, and you have to wait a year for the next book to be released? Well, two new books have been released in two separate series, and I’ve spent the last month or so rereading proceeding books as a review.

I thought I’d give you a brief rundown of these series in preparation for my review of the latest books.

“The Secrets Immortal Nicholas Flammel” series by Michael Scott

I started reading this series long ago, starting with the The Alchemyst”. Basically, I was still on a Harry Potter high (still am – more on that later), and Nicholas Flammel is a character in “The Sorcerer’s Stone.”

Like a fool, I thought it was a trilogy. When I finished the third book, “The  Sorceress“.  I was incredibly disappointed to discover that not only was the next book not out yet, but there were still three more books to be released.

I love what Michael Scott is trying to in this series, but the story line is so complex and the characters so numerous, there was no way in the world I could remember even half the story line as I waited a year between each book. So I set the series aside.

But now the series is complete, so I began at the beginning. I just recently finished “The Warlock,” and am close to starting “The Enchantress.” If you’ve hesitated to start this series, it’s safe to begin.

Thus far, I’d compare each book to a season of Lost. The first couple were good and intriguing. Then there was a season/book when it just went in too many directions (The Necromancer). We want answers, not more problems, right?

Now as I approach the final season/book, “The Enchantress”, I just hope it all makes sense. (I’m hoping it parts company with Lost at this point.) I’ll let you know how it goes.

“The Heroes of Olympus” series by Rick Riordan

This may be one of my favorite series since Harry Potter for a few reasons. It’s fun, adventurous, humorous, and not dark enough that I dream about it at night. This is a series that I cannot just wait till they’re all released.

I texted Gaby this picture last time I was in Barnes and Noble with the message “Eeeeeeeeekkkkk!!!” attached. Real words escape me when I’m super excited.

I have absolutely no problem rereading them as many times as I need to. “The Mark of Athena” was released earlier this month, and I’m just starting “The Son of Neptune” to review. I just finished reading “The Lost Hero”, today, and I can say whole-heartedly, it’s just as much fun the second time.

And speaking of Harry Potter.  As fall approached, I decided I needed a break from new. As my man, C.S. Lewis said: “I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.” So I started listening to the Harry Potter series from the beginning. As a result, I think that reading “The Sorcerer’s Stone” should be a fall tradition. There’s something magical about pairing that book with a pumpkin spice latte. It was meant to be.

Anyway, that’s where I’ve been, and where I’m going. If you’ve been caught up in the hustle and bustle of fall like me, I would strongly recommend you pick up any of those series and dive in. They’re wonderfully enjoyable and relaxing.

Are you reviewing any books in series to prepare for an upcoming release?

Leave a Reply

