Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

5 ***** = Highly recommend; A Classic; Couldn’t get much better; Could read over and over again

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Publication: October 9th 2012 by Hyperion

Synopsis from Goodreads

Release date: October 9th 2012

Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett’s unique ability to travel through time and space brings him into Anna’s life, and with him, a new world of adventure and possibility. 

As their relationship deepens, they face the reality that time might knock Bennett back where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate—and what consequences they can bear in order to stay together.

Fresh, exciting, and deeply romantic, TIME BETWEEN US is a stunning and spellbinding debut from an extraordinary new talent in YA fiction.

So I have to admit, romance mixed with time travel is not a story I usually read.  So when an amazing blog buddy, Olivia from Olivia’s Opinions sent it to me, I was actually terrified it would be sad like other romance/time travel stories I have read (ALA Time Travelers Wife).  Remember, I love paranormal romance and YA because it is very fantasy based and not real.  When you mess with the time continuum and love, it usually spells heartbreak of the too real kind.  Well, I am happy to announce this story was completely different and refreshing.  Yay!  I love to be surprised by a book, and Time Between Us absolutely did that.

What I just did could change everything, or it could change nothing.  But I have to try.  I’ve got nothing to lose.  If my plan doesn’t work, my life will remain the same: Safe.  Comfortable.  Perfectly average.  

But that wasn’t the life I originally chose.

Characters

Anna was a great main character, she was strong and not whiny!  Hallelujah!  She definitely struggles with the obstacles she is thrown, but really balances her reality with the supernatural circumstances she is given.  Bennett is a 16 year old who time travels, so he comes off a little more mature.  He has to make some really grown up decisions about how to use his gift and the consequences.  The romance between them is sweet, there is affection but not the hot and heavy kind.  I really enjoyed the more mature and natural relationship.  Really refreshing.

EMMA, hello gal pal with an English accent.  I am sorry, but when I write the superhero, kick butt story of my life, there will be a gal pal with an English accent!  I love this, not only because it is a secret dream of mine, but Ms. Stone makes the character authentic.

Music is almost a character in the book!  Loved it.  Since most of the story is in 1995, the music references reflect that.  Since that was about the time I was first entering college, I was so intrigued.  It really gave depth to the story and was so much fun!

Plot

I loved that the plot was a bit more like an intriguing  mystery instead of the typical YA boy meets girl.  The romance was sweet and very sincere, but not the main plot.  The details and the depth of the characters made the story richer.  There is a great story line with Anna and her Dad, he has given her a map with little red pins.  She wants to travel the world and the map is incentive to stay focused on her goal of college and travel.  Without spoiling, this tied in so nicely with one of my favorite parts of the book.  Anna as a character has goals and really used those goals to make the choices in the book.

My Two Cents

REFRESHING!  This was a really great read!  Just enough romance, old school music references,  great characters & great time travel intrigue!  I loved it!  Kind of want to read it again!

I know Hourglass & Timepiece by Myra McEntire also does time travel well.  What are you favorite time travel books!?

Leave a Reply

