Point of Origin by Amanda Havard

So, I was trying to keep from reading for a week!  Just to see if I could clear my mind to get a project done and focus for a week.  Well, I started on Sunday and I got to Tuesday!  Tuesday people, I broke down and bought a book!  I am hopeless.  The only thing I wanted to read was Point of Origin.  This time I got it in an e-book format.  I did miss the Immersedition extras, but it was still fabulous!

Point of Origin by Amanda Havard

4 **** = Can recommend; Great; Overall enjoyable

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Synopsis from Goodreads

The winter is upon us. The Survivors are in chaos. The war is coming.

One year ago, Sadie Matthau was living among humans, existing as one of them. But now she wakes each morning in a house in the Survivors’ City, listening to the invocations and insults of her family members as they cope with their new future. A war. Rogue abandoners turned monsters. Sadie and the icy Winters living in their midst, bringing the outside world in.

The Survivors: Point of Origin is Sadie’s quest to save her family. But can she find what she is looking for when she can barely stomach the Winters’ wintry demeanor and finds herself distracted by Cole Hardwick’s warm heart? Will she be able to uncover her family’s history even as the elders’ grip tightens around her throat? In an action packed ride full of magic and misery, terror and triumph, Sadie Matthau seeks the Survivors’ beginning just in time to face her end.

This second installment in the Survivors Series did not disappoint.  I really enjoyed how Amanda Havard used the vampire/creature lore and Salem witch trail history to ground her story.  Sadie is researching again to find a way to help her Survivor family find a way to kill the rogue Survivors.  In doing this it also touches on her desire to find a way to kill herself which her lovely immortal “boyfriend”, Everett, is very hesitant about.  We get to go deeper into what really happened to the Survivors in her quest to find the rogues and a way to kill them.

I am completely in love with the Winters family!  Everett’s Winter’s family has completely thrown themselves into helping Sadie stop the war that will lead to so much bloodshed.  Mark and Ginny (Evertte’s brother & sister) make me so happy!  It is an example of great character building.  Love them.

Now here is my only hesitation with this story!  LOVE TRIANGLE!  Now I will state right off the bat that I am not a fan of the ever famous Love triangle.  But after hearing Amanda talk about Love triangles at the UTOPya con, I understand  why she loves them.  But maybe I am just loving Everett too much!  Now don’t get me wrong, I think Cole sounds like a lovely guy.  Gorgeous and ridiculously sweet.  It doesn’t hurt that Sadie can hear his thoughts and the guy is pretty much perfect.  Romantical!!!!! LOL!

Overall, I am so excited to find out what happens with Sadie, the (AMAZING) Winters, the Survivors & the Rogues.  Miss Havard even gives a sneak peek to the next book!  BUT KILL ME NOW!  It was a complete cliff hanger.  Like really BIG cliff hanger.  I finished this book at about 2 am and couldn’t sleep till about 2:45 thinking about what could possibly happen.  Now I just have to wait till next year for the next installment in the Survivors Series.  GOD HELP ME!!!!

One thought on “Point of Origin by Amanda Havard

  1. Pingback: The Southern Festival of Books | Two Readers Writing

Leave a Reply

