The Survivors by Amanda Havard- Immersedition – 5 stars!

This has been an exciting weekend for me!  I am a confessed Disney Nerd, Apple fan & book lover (among other things).  This weekend my worlds collided when I read an amazing book by Amanda Havard.  I learned about the book Survivors at the UtopYA con early this month.  This lovely author shared her desire to take her story to a new level.  She described the Immersedition of “The Survivors” that you can buy as an app for your ipad.  Well, I can not tell you enough how this reading experience has changed me.  I LOVED IT!  It felt like reading a book the way forward thinkers like Disney and Apple would present it.  Almost all the senses were involved, music, photos, videos, maps, character info and, to top it all off, A GREAT STORY. AHHH!  Let’s get started!

The Survivors by Amanda Havard

5 ***** = Highly reccomend; A Classic; Couldn’t get much better; Could read over and over again

Website

Facebook

Twitter

App Store – Immersedition

Synopsis from Goodreads

In 1692, when witch trials gripped the community of Salem, Massachusetts, twenty-six children were accused as witches, exiled, and left for dead. Fourteen of them survived.

The Survivors is the first installment of the tantalizing tales of the fourteen ill-fated Survivors and their descendants, who have been content in hiding for over three centuries. Isolated on a Montana mountainside, only Sadie, the rogue daughter, dares to abandon the family’s sacred hiding place. But no matter how far Sadie runs, something always pulls her back.

On a muggy summer night in Tennessee, she witnesses a shocking scene that will change her life forever. It is the first in a sequence of events that will drag her from the human world she’s sought to belong to for over a century and send her back to her Puritanical family and into an uncertain future filled with cunning witches, mysterious nosferatu shape-shifters, dangerous eretica and vieczy vampires, millennia-old mythology, and the search for her own mortality. After all…

HOW DO YOU KILL A SURVIVOR? 

The Survivors will steal your heart and invade your mind. Fall into the pages of Sadie’s life, a world so frighteningly similar to your own, you’ll find yourself wanting to go to the Montana mountains to find the Survivors for yourself.

And it is only the beginning.

First, let’s talk story!

I loved the history that Amanda uses to base her story.  It gives the character and the plot depth, but not so into the details that its boring.  Sadie is an amazing character, she had cool super powers but has such a great view-point on the human world.  I love some of the thoughts she has about humanity since she has grown up secluded and away from the world.  Now, there are some boys!  Yup!  I am going to keep the detail to a minimum because I really want you to have the experience I did.  The characters unfold so nicely.

This is a paranormal book, but it does not have any of the kitsch that most do.  It has depth and originality that is so refreshing!  There is romance and I have to say, I love it. The plot is not predictable and the lack of detail tells you I can not give too much or you will lose the surprise in the plot.  So I will just say, it will not disappoint!

Now let’s talk Immersedition!!!!!  Yee!

I have OCD and I am a multitasker, so this format fit me perfectly!  The app looks like a typical e-book, but it has water marks that you can tap throughout the text.  Things like a map of the location being described.  A photo of the lake Sadie is walking by.  As each character is introduced you can click the watermark and get info.  Info like what their twitter handle is or where they are on Facebook.  And you will not get info that has not happened in the story yet.  Uh-huh, amazing!  MUSIC!!!  Not only has this kick butt author licensed songs from artists like Coldplay that go with what is happening in the story line.  But she has also written, recorded and had some songs made into video’s.  I mean come on!!!

Here is the kicker for me!  When an author describes clothes or cars, my mind goes into overdrive trying to imagine them. I think those outside characteristics make the story for me.  Sometimes the items I imagine don’t really fit what I have expected and I am disappointed.  Well, Miss Havard has fixed that!  If a character mentions an item of clothing or even shoes.  There is a photo!!!  This goes for cars too.  The fashion described is amazing and the expensive cars the are picture, just add to the coolness of this story.  To get to see it gives it so much depth.

So, as you can probably tell from my gushing.  I loved this book and the Immersedition.  I am going to have a hard time going back to books with no music or google maps.  Ha!  Cheers to Amanda for taking this step and I hope more books come in this multi-dimensional format soon!

The second book in the Survivors Series called Point of Origin is OUT!!!  Whoop whoop!  Guess who is going to the bookstore asap.  THIS GIRL!

6 thoughts on “The Survivors by Amanda Havard- Immersedition – 5 stars!

  1. Um, this sounds kind of fantastic! I think I’ll download it on my Kindle right now 🙂 Great review, by the way 😉

    • Thanks! Be sure you download the app if you can, it has all the extras. The story is fabulous, but hearing the songs and seeing the clothes just throws it over the top. I really loved it! I read and reviewed the second book Point of Origin and CAN NOT wait for the next. Ugh! It’s great and awful when you have to wait for the next in a series!

      • I would love to get the app, it sounds awesome, but alas, I have an old school Kindle *sigh*… I think it may be time for an upgrade!

        I totally know what you mean about waiting on the next book, it can be horrible! And the more you’re looking forward to it, the worse it is! It’s practically cruel and unusual punishment LOL

  2. Pingback: The Southern Festival of Books | Two Readers Writing

Leave a Reply

