“Insurgent” by Veronica Roth

June 20 was the 390th anniversary of the first duel fought in America. That’s not marked on your calendars? Well, it should be.

Because guess who are direct descendents from the first troublemaker to step foot on American soil from the Mayflower.

These kids. Yes, my brothers and I have criminal in our blood. We’ve always been a shady bunch.

Our ancestor Edward Coty participated in the first duel on American soil using “sword and dagger.” His punishment was to be tied to his opponent for 24 hours without food or drink. Evidently that lasted one hour, making Coty the first person to receive a pardon from a governor in America.

Coty went on to have plenty of run-ins with the law for trespassing, assault, battery, and breaking the peace.

What I’m trying to say is that my 9-great grandpa would have been in Dauntless. I like to think that he had a neck tattoo of the Mayflower peaking out of his collar.

I recently finished reading “Insurgent,” the second book in the “Divergent” series, so I’m currently classifying most people I meet or read about into their appropriate faction. Don’t worry, it will wear off after awhile.

“Insurgent”

by Veronica Roth

5 ***** = Highly reccomend; A Classic; Couldn’t get much better; Could read over and over again

One choice can transform you–or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves–and herself–while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable–and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so. 

“New York Times” bestselling author Veronica Roth’s much-anticipated second book of the dystopian “Divergent” series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature. (Synopsis from goodreads)

I knew my future with the “Divergent” series greatly rested on the shoulders of this second book. It would either disappoint and leave me wishing I had never invested in the series or knock my socks off and leave me anxiously waiting for the third book to be released . . .next year.

It knocked my socks off and now the wait begins.

The story picks up the moment after the first book ends. There’s a little less suspense in this book, but just as much action and drama – and plenty of excitement to keep you reading way past your bedtime.

Roth does a fantastic job at maintaining the depth of her characters. They didn’t become annoying or whiny (my biggest pet peeve), but grew in their story and complexity.

The story also evolves to explore new conflict and adventure, keeping things from feeling old and repetitive. And there’s a twist that will make the next several months of waiting slightly agonizing.

I’m giving this book five stars. One – because I couldn’t put it down. And two – because I definitely will read it again.

Oh, and three – my 9-Great Grandpa Eddie would have dug it.

4 thoughts on ““Insurgent” by Veronica Roth

  1. A fun personal twist on a review…very cute! I think I’m number 12 on the hold list for this from the library…but if it leaves you eager for the third installment, it might be better to have to wait!

    • I always try to get all the books in a series at the same time if possible. I am so impatient when I lock on to a story and characters. Sara’s review has convinced me to give another try to those dystopian books.

  2. I had originally waitlisted the ebook from the library, but after found I couldn’t wait for it to become available once I finished Divergent. It was so hard to put down, that I finished it in a day. Now that I have to wait for the 3rd book, I’m kind of sad. I guess I’ll buy Divergent so I can have my own copy, and re-read the books in the meantime.

    • I know. They were so hard to put down. I hate having to wait. We’ll make it together. 🙂 So glad you enjoyed the book.

Leave a Reply

