Crossed – not as cool as its book cover

Crossed by Ally Condie

2 ** = Overall not recommended; there were some highlights, but nothing to write home about

Rules Are Different Outside The Society

Chasing down an uncertain future, Cassia makes her way to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky–taken by the Society to his sure death–only to find that he has escaped into the majestic, but treacherous, canyons. On this wild frontier are glimmers of a different life and the enthralling promise of a rebellion. But even as Cassia sacrifices every thing to reunite with Ky, ingenious surprises from Xander may change the game once again.

Narrated from both Cassia’s and Ky’s point of view, this hotly anticipated sequel to Matched will take them both to the edge of Society, where nothing is as expected and crosses and double crosses make their path more twisted than ever. (synopsis by Goodreads)

A few disappointing things happened while listening to “Crossed” by Ally Condie, the sequel to “Matched.”

  1. I learned that Cassia is pronounced “Cash-a,” as in “Cassius,” instead of Cassia as in “Cassiopeia.” Disappointing.
  2. I accidentally listened to the majority of disc 2 on shuffle, creating quite a frustrating listening experience. I discovered my error just before I almost threw in the towel on the whole book.
  3. Condie goes all Jacob and Bella on us, alternating chapters between Ky and Cassia’s voice. Unfortunately, Ky ends up being way less awesome. I liked mysterious, brooding Ky a lot more than whiny, insecure, wavering Ky. The intriguing mystery of his character was lost.
  4. Worst of all – not a lot of excitement happened. I thought the first book set things up for an exciting, faster-moving, stick-it-to-the-man dystopian adventure. I was wrong. Instead, the book was mostly the anxiety-ridden musings of angsty teenagers. Blah.

I really was banking on “Crossed” being better than “Matched.” But I think I misjudged Ally Condie. She seems to thrive on poetic musings rather than adventure and mystery. I think she would rather write of complicated love than page-turning excitement.

Some of you will value this about her, and that’s just fine. I actually like all that too. However, a winning book to me is one that can encompass all of the above. I didn’t feel like Condie accomplished that.

Leave a Reply

