Hourglass – one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read recently

“Hourglass”

by Myra McEntire

5 ***** = Highly reccomend; A Classic; Couldn’t get much better; Could read over and over again

When it comes to reading good books right now, I’m on fire. “Divergent,” “Switched,” and now “Hourglass” – I can’t be stopped. What makes this even more awesome is the fact that I have an autographed copy of “Hourglass.” (courtesy of Gaby.) You can call me the Lebron James of reading. Actually, maybe just call Myra McEntire the Lebron James of writing. She’s pretty good.

Here’s the synopsis.

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back. So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened? (synopsis from goodreads)

When I first started reading “Hourglass,” I was a little hesitant as I kind of got a “Six Sense” sort of vibe. I mean, Emerson sees dead people. What else could this be about? So, when the dreamy Michael walked into the picture, I automatically decided that the big reveal at the end would be that he was dead too. (“Six Sense” spoiler alert. Sorry.)

Thank goodness McEntire is way more original than I am.

I knew I was going to love McEntire after I read her biography on the jacket of the book. According to the jacket, she “knows every R&B hit from the last decade” and has “mad word skills.”

Her writing is just as witty. My favorite aspect of the book is how she writes Emerson. There’s what Emerson says, and there’s what Emerson thinks – definitely not the same thing. It flows so well with some of the best timing I’ve read in a long time.

Emerson was real and relatable, not to mention flawed, but likable. I want to be friends with her too.

I literally couldn’t put this book down. It was equally enjoyable and exciting.

The other thing I appreciated about this book is how McEntire writes conflict with hope. There were big issues and sticky predicaments. There were even traitors and twists. But there was always some hopeful characters.

This was best displayed in the characters of Thomas and Dru, Emerson’s brother and sister-in-law. Thomas became Emerson’s legal guardian after their parents died in a tragic accident.

McEntire didn’t take the gloom and doom route with this devastating family, but maintained a level of realness in their interaction. They truly loved each other despite the circumstance. This made the story feel worth reading and the battles worth fighting, without any phoniness.

The other awesome aspect about this book is that Ivy Springs, the location of the story, is based on Franklin, Tennessee. I’ve been there! Oh, and Gaby works there. The only thing that would have made it more visual for me is if she had based Ivy Springs on Tacoma. Maybe the next book. . . probably not.

I had no idea I was going to enjoy this book so much, and I’m actually slightly devastated that I’m done with. Good news, though. The next book comes out today! Hello Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Hourglass – one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read recently

  1. Interesting! I haven’t checked this book out yet because I’ve heard mixed reviews, but your reaction has me bumping it up on my to-read list. I like flawed but hopeful characters. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • Yeah, I would give it a try. I couldn’t help but love it. This was the first book in a while that I couldn’t put down – it was just too enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

