Trolls may be the new vampires – maybe.

My work is an undercover book club. I’m only half joking.

The only things that frequent my desk more than charts are second-hand books. My coworkers and I frequently are trading books, discussing books, or making lame jokes about books that confuse the rest of the office.

One coworker recently left a stack of books on my desk. The Trylle trilogy. (Feels redundant to say outloud.)

I started reading the first book with absolutely NO idea what it was about. As I continued reading, I started to realize there was some element of fantasy and paranormal involved.

Vampires? Werewolves? Faeries?

Nope.

Trolls. Didn’t see that one coming. Yes, I’m Norwegian, but I still had no idea what “Trylle” was. Fortunately, neither does Word, which makes me feel slightly better.

My experience with trolls consists of this creepy troll statue that my dad got from Norway in his bachelor days, I assume. Somehow this creature ended up adorning the shelf in my brothers’ room growing up. Hello nightmares. Needless to say, my dad had to move it.

I hope this picture doesn’t offend anyone. Just so you know the trolls in this book are nothing like the troll from my childhood.

Switched

By Amanda Hocking

4 **** = Can recommend; Great; Overall enjoyable

Here’s the synopsis of “Switched,” the first book in the Trylle trilogy by Amanda Hocking.

When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel—all because of Finn Holmes.

 Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her. Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken…though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit. But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth: Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth—and he’s come to take her home.

 Now Wendy’s about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that’s both beautiful and frightening. And where she must leave her old life behind to discover who she’s meant to become… (synopsis from goodreads)

I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a wonderful balance of romance and adventure, without being terribly upsetting. I could read it, put it down, and live my life without a heavy cloud over my head. It was a welcome break from those troubling dystopian novels that I seem to be unable to resist.

Besides the fact that it’s about trolls, “Switched” struck me as particularly unique from other books I’ve read recently. I’m willing to guess that this stems from Amanda Hocking’s personal individuality.

Hocking writes with an edginess that penetrates most of her characters. I could feel her dedication to not let this be just your normal teen paranormal romance novel. This book will shop at Hot Topic, dye it’s hair colorful hues, and wear those black wrist sweatbands that I was so fond of in high school.

I think that’s what I loved about the book. It was raw and unencumbered, which was kind of refreshing. Besides that, the main character, Wendy, has unruly brown hair that she can’t control. She’s basically my soul sister.

FYI: There are some sudden bursts of pretty vulgar language to beware of.

Please don’t hesitate to read this book because it’s about trolls. It’s not as weird as it sounds. It’s fresh and interesting, and I can’t wait to read the second book.

5 thoughts on “Trolls may be the new vampires – maybe.

  1. Pingback: More books! And a wish… | Olivia's Opinions

Leave a Reply

