Delirium by Lauren Oliver… A Dystopian I like!

So, again, I am back from the craziness that is my real world right now.  Work has had me slammed all day and falling into bed exhausted at night!  But with this three day weekend, I AM BACK.

I received a book store gift card for Mother’s Day.  Yes, my family knows me!  I got some great YA books and will be posting about them soon.  One of my picks was another dystopian novel.  SHOCKING!!!  The inner monologue while purchasing this was quite interesting.

Gaby:  Ooo, “The Wilds”, love is a disease… uh-oh dystopian novel.

Wimpy girl in my head:  Danger Chickie, you will be a puddle of nothing on the floor during and after this.  DO NOT do it!

Gaby:  But ” The Wilds”  that sounds interesting.  There has to be romance since its based on Love being a disease.

Wimpy girl in my head:  Uh-huh, right, Miss hopeless romantic and it won’t be painful at all, if there is a love story and some one dies a painful, awful, heartless, dystopian death.  Right!

Gaby:  Shut it, Wimpy!  I am a big girl, I can do this.

Ok, so I have issues & inner monologues are way more entertaining to me than they should be.  Anywho!  I bought the book and am happy to say, I enjoyed it!

Delirium   by Lauren Oliver (Book #1 Delirium series)

Website

Twitter

Facebook

4 **** = Can recommend; Great; Overall enjoyable

 Synopsis from Goodreads

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

 

This story was not an easy breezy read for me.  The idea that Love was bad or a disease is so out of my norm and comfort zone, I had to continually remind myself that LOVE, emotion and/or affection was BAD.  Although, the world Lena lives in is not to far off from a city we would live in now, it seems like another planet with the way they lived without emotion or affection.

I was pretty sure I was going to dislike this book, at the beginning, and my rule of “finishing all books I start” really paid off.  The story turned into a really sweet love story with danger and some kick butt rebellion.  Rebellion against something, that for me, is so innately wrong that I was all about it.  At the beginning of the book, each chapter is begun with quotes from the Book of SHH.   “The Safety, Health, and Happiness Handbook”, kind of like the “Rule book of society” in this world.  Towards the middle there are quotes of love, relationship and quotes from literature having to do with Rebellion and Love.  This is in the “Comprehensive Compilation of Dangerous Words and Ideas”.  The transition was quite lovely and, I thought, very clever.  It was so interesting to see how the Bible, History texts and Literature were rewritten and spun to show how love the root of all pain and evil.

I also really enjoyed learning about Lena and Alex’s parents and family.   There are some really great characters in this book.  Hana who is Lena’s well off best friend was really refreshing.  I kind of pegged her as the typical best gal pal, but her path in the story was not predictable.  And then there is Gracie!  I absolutely loved her.  She doesn’t speak, but her character is so deep and rich, I was literally heaving crying at a scene she was in.  THAT had me in awe at a writer’s ability to write a character in a way that connects to you so deeply and she doesn’t speak a word.  It made for such a rich deep story that I was really excited to get to the end and see what happened.  It kind of felt very Romeo and Juliet, bittersweet.  The”Happily Ever After” in me was shocked at how much I enjoyed it.

I am going to read Pandemonium (Book #2 in Delirium Series).  I am so excited that it is already out, so I am going to pick it up soon.  There is a short digital story on Lena’s friend Hana, called Hana (Book#1.5 in Delirium Series).  I love these short stories that keep the reader going till the big books come out.  Ms. Oliver is also writing Requiem (Book #3 in Delirium Series), which should be out February of 2013.

So Yay!  A Dystopian I like!  Hope you dig it as much as I did!

2 thoughts on “Delirium by Lauren Oliver… A Dystopian I like!

  1. I have heard very good things about this book, and being a dystopian lover, it has always been my plan to read it. Thank you for posting the synopsis, and I have to admit, it literally gave me chills! This is everything that I love in a book! However, as I read your review further I kind of changed my mind.

    I love dystopian, but I absolutely hate love stories! I don’t know why, but they usually come off as cliche and cheesy, and I hate the superficial wonderful ending that turns girls into hopeless romantics. The only love story I can admit to ever liking was The Time Traveler’s Wife. I fell in love with it.

    So anyway when I heard that this book is centered around the idea of love being obsolete I just knew I had to read it. Now of course I was expecting a love story, but I’m getting the feeling that this book is going to be centered around just one big “Edward&Bella” love story.

    I guess I could be wrong, and I guess the only way to find out would be if I actually read the book. So I might just read it and see what it’s about. Thanks for the post!

    • Now, I am a fan of romance and love stories. But I agree if that is all it is about, it’s not as interesting to me. This is not a gushy romance, it is not easy and it is not Edward & Bella. (THANK THE LORD) I think it would be safe for you to give it a try. Thanks for commenting even if you were not sure you wanted to read it. Love discussing books! Good luck, let me know if you do try it and share the review with me. Interested to see what you think!

Leave a Reply

