A good ol’ book recomm-endation

Pinterest wouldn’t work today. Let me rephrase this. Pinterest wouldn’t work for a couple of minutes today. It just happened to be the couple of minutes that I had my apron on, ready to tackle a new recipe. The outrage. (It didn’t even work on my iPhone. I know, right? What is this world coming to?)

Ladies and gentlemen, I am a victim of technology.

And… I think that’s why I like reading these dystopian novels about people who fall hostage to technology and end up smack dab in the middle of a freedom-less, government-dependent society.

“Matched” by Ally Condie is another one of those.

3 *** = Good, may not be for everyone

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow. (Premise by goodreads).

The premise would have you think that this book is only a love story. It isn’t. It’s about being able to choose your path in life instead of having it dictated to you. It’s about the conflict of deciding to do the right thing even if it’s a more difficult path. “Sometimes the hardest thing and the right thing are the same.” (Life lessons from The Fray. You’re welcome.)

Now, I’ve read “The Giver” by Lois Lowry. “Matched” is very similar in concept, but less indulgent. Plus, the characters are more complex and easier to get behind.

“Matched” isn’t the best book in the entire world. I don’t need to read it again. It’s fairly slow-moving, focusing more on character development rather than adventure.

However, the stage is set, and I can’t stop reading here. I have a feeling the next installment, “Crossed,” is going to be even better.

I’ve forgotten what it feels like to readily recommend a book. This is nice.

Ps – Pinterest is back online, and I was able to finish my recipe. All is right in the world again.

Leave a Reply

