I get schooled by C.S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis and I had our first fight.

As many of you know, I am a pretty big C.S. Lewis fan. “How big?” you ask. To that I would answer: “I named my cat Narnia. That’s how big.”

That’s me and Narnia. He’s a big C.S. Lewis fan too, obviously.

You know when you’re at church or listening to a lecture and C.S. Lewis is quoted? I’m the person that nods her head vigorously like I heard him say it personally.

But the other day, I got schooled by C.S. Lewis. I knew I was asking for trouble when I wrote negatively about his bro Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” trilogy.

And sure enough, he called me out on it. My C.S. Lewis quote-of-the-day (yes, I do have an app called “C.S. Lewis quote-of-the-day”) was as follows:

As a matter of fact, C.S. (as I like to call him) wrote an entire review on the trilogy that is quite glowing.

He’s on his way to convincing me to try reading the series again. If you have any other good reasons for me to give it a second go, feel free to share. 🙂

4 thoughts on “I get schooled by C.S. Lewis

  1. My good reasons follow: Tom Bombadil is boss and was not in the films, you need to read about him. The Ents are also boss, and a lot funnier than they were in the movies. Arwen is less badass and Eowyn more than in the films. The Two Towers and Return of the King are completely worth all of the sheisty-relatives, mushroom-stealing tedium at the beginning of Fellowship of the Ring. Pippin and Merry have their own awesome adventures of which you shall never know if you don’t give it another try.

  2. I vote you give them another try! I reread them all last year and think about them all the time…The Hobbit is a little lighter but then the trilogy may pull you in a little more? Great post! I need that app…

Leave a Reply

