Some good news and bad news…

I have some good news and bad news. Actually I have two pieces of good news. Let’s start with the good, then the bad, then finish with the good. It will be like a bad news sandwich with the best bread you’ve ever had.

Good news #1:

I got a late birthday present last week. I love presents, especially unexpected ones.

A good book is best read with dark chocolate – intense dark chocolate to be exact. The best books have chocolate thumbprints on it. I don’t feel even a little bad.

“Pilgrim’s Progress” may be competing to be one of my favorite books. It’s wonderfully written, full of creativity, imagination, and truth. I’m edified on every page.

This is a book to purchase and read with a highlighter. I hope the pages of your copy get beautifully curled and covered with chocolate thumbprints.

And the bad news:

Flip by Martyn Bedford

2 ** = Overall not recommended; there were some highlights, but nothing to write home about

I just finished a rather disappointing book. The premise was so promising and right up my alley.

One December night, 14-year-old Alex goes to  bed. He wakes up to  find himself in the wrong bedroom, in an unfamiliar house, in a different part of the country, and it’s the middle of June. Six months have disappeared overnight. The family at the breakfast table are total strangers.

And when he looks in the mirror, another boy’s face stares back at him.  A boy named Flip. Unless Alex finds out what’s happened and how to get back to his own life, he may be trapped forever inside a body that belongs to someone else.

Questions of identity, the will to survive, and what you’re willing to sacrifice to be alive make this extraordinary book impossible to put down.

Thank you goodreads.

“Flip” is like dark and moody “Freaky Friday,” with a lot less laughter. I didn’t hate the story or the writing. It is set in England, so there’s lots of fun vocabulary that made me feel cool, hip and cultured – always a good thing.

But, I had one problem. The book was unnecessarily full of vulgar language and inappropriate detail. Sometimes I think authors feel like they need to include this to make a story relevant to our generation. They don’t. The story was good enough on its own. The vulgarity just made me uncomfortable and leery about recommending it to anyone else.

Everyone has a different level of tolerance, and I will be the first to admit that mine is pretty low.

Because of the language issue, it made it difficult to like any of the characters too much, because everyone basically had a potty mouth. As a result, it was hard to really care about how everything turned out.

Okay, enough of that.

Good news #2:

I’m going to Nashville in the beginning of June! What does this mean? A tworeaderswriting reunion, of course. Wild. And. Crazy. Nothing says party like too bookworms getting together.

And… it will be nice to see my brother too.

4 thoughts on “Some good news and bad news…

Leave a Reply

