“Shatter Me”, Surprised Me!

Shatter Me  by Tahereh Mafi

Website

Twitter

Facebook

3 *** = Good, may not be for everyone

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

I read another dystopian novel everyone!!!!  See, I am trying to break out of the mold of just wanting to read the typical, “Happily Ever After”.  I was influenced, once again, by another lovely blog (Olivia’s Opinions) to try this book out.  Going to try a new way to share my pro’s and con’s of the book.

First the CON’s, always good to end on a high note. 🙂

– I listened to this book (audible- audiobook)  and the crossing out thing the author does was a bit disturbing at first.  I began to see that the main character Juliette was self editing in an attempt to protect herself.  At first though, it was really hard to get past.

– Ms. Tahereh Mafi LOVES her simile’s and metaphors!  At the beginning of the book, Juliette is in a cell and the simile’s and metaphors are so out of context, it was a bit jarring and brought me out of the story.  I had headphones on and kept saying “What…huh???” out loud, my family thought I was nuts.

– There are some scenes of brutal violence, sometimes involving young children.  This was hard for me to listen to and I can imagine, it may deter some from reading the story.  I get it’s dystopian, but it was pretty intense.

PRO’s

– I enjoyed the development of the story.  I enjoyed the use of flashbacks, it felt natural, since it is told from Juliette’s perspective.  She developed and told the reasons for her being locked up and the re-establishment of the US nicely.  Juliette’s change in the story was really interesting.  She begins one way and ends up a completely different being.  I enjoyed her kick butt character and she was brunette (YAY!).

– The love story and relationship was totally believable.  It was refreshing to have a love story based on a real foundation.  There was none of the typical YA…”The first time they saw each other… they were drawn to each other by the cosmos and just had to be together”.

– This story line is not new, but I didn’t really realize it till I was finished listening.  I was excited I got a new telling or twist on a classic story.  That, to me, is a sign of a good writer.

Overall I enjoyed this story, the characters were well-developed and I love a LOVE story.  The violence involved keeps me from giving it more stars, this isn’t a story for everyone.  I enjoyed this read…or listen and since it was dystopian, I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did.  Excited for the next installment!

4 thoughts on ““Shatter Me”, Surprised Me!

  1. I truly LOVED this book—thought @TaherehMafi’s writing was simply poetic. I also LOVED that it was unique and thus, refreshing. For only being 22, she is someone to keep an eye on in the future. I think she’s going to make a huge break through in YA ficiton. I too write a mini review about Shatter Me at http://pinterest.com/pin/176344141629144046/ and also have a blog at readingenvogue.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

