Neverland with Jim Dale. It’s a good idea.

Do you ever have those moments when you just have to mutter audibly, “Thank you, Lord”? I do.  They often involve a spectacular sunrise or an especially wonderful piece of dark chocolate. God loves me all the time (and you too, fyi), but these are moments when I feel like He is writing me a personal little love note.

Let me tell you about the most recent one. I was feeling just a tad bit weary towards the end of February. I blame it on Leap Year. Was that month insanely long for anybody else?

Anyway, I went to the library just to catch my breath, and low and behold, guess what I discovered – an audio version of “Peter Pan,” read by Jim Dale.

Thank you, Lord.

Stop laughing. I’m being totally serious. God knows a good book is one of my love languages.

There are few people who narrate quite like Jim Dale – Elijah Wood is one of them.  (Once again, I’m being totally serious, but I’ll save that for another post.)

Needless to say, I snatched it up in a heartbeat. Now, it took a minute for me to shift my mind from the Harry Potter Jim Dale to the Peter Pan Jim Dale. Tootles did sound quite a bit like Seamus Finnigan for a while, and Smee sounded an awful lot like Xenophilius Lovegood. But once you shift gears, it’s entirely wonderful.

If you haven’t read “Peter Pan,” please do. It’s a 5-star kind of book. And if you’re able to find it, I would encourage you to have Jim Dale read it to you.  You will want to tuck yourself tightly into bed and doze off to it, dreaming of adventures in Neverland.

One thought on “Neverland with Jim Dale. It’s a good idea.

Leave a Reply

